OPENSCAPE

OPENSCAPE is a digital platform for the promotion of artistic and curatorial exchanges that will meet every two months. Curated and presented by partners across five continents, this online meeting point aims to help practitioners reconnect globally by offering regular moments to gather and exchange, fostering old friendships and prompting new encounters.

OPENSCAPE is an initiative of Reso - Swiss Dance Network, it is realised in partnership with GreenRoom (Germany/Spain), iPanda (China), The Khan (Lebanon), Mwenya Kabwe (South Africa), NAVE (Chile), Nika Parkhomovskaia (Russia), Sandbox Collective (India), Tanzhaus Zurich, and Materialise (Switzerland/Hong Kong).

 

It is supported by the Transformation Fund of Canton Zurich and Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia.

The panels of the first event have been pre-recorded and are available on-line:

Fair Leaderships ✕ On Practices

The first panel featured Arundhati GhoshYuliya Churilova and Fernando García Barros, who shared their vision of leadership through the prism of institutions they are helming, and how they created the conditions to challenge the traditional models. It was moderated by Chilean artist and cultural operator Horacio Pérez. Our 3 speakers were kind enough to pre-record a presentation of themselves that you can watch by clicking on their names here above.

Fair Leaderships ✕ On Frameworks

On the second panel, Lilian Abou Zeki, Jehan Manekshaw and Sara Matchett reflected on their experiences and thoughts of leadership, both within and around institutions. This conversation was moderated by Raafat Majzoub, an architect, artist and cultural strategist, Founder at The Khan (Tripoli / LB).

After a successful launch event before the summer centred on questions of «Fair Leaderships», OpenScape resumes its activities with a series of digital events curated and organised with its international partners. 

Our next focus is hosted by Shanghai-based collective iPANDA under the title «Let’s (not) Talk about Political Correctness», looking into an issue that resonates very differently depending on the region or political context in which one lives.

Fourteen participants from Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and South America will share their experiences and insights in a public online event scheduled for 8 November 2022 at 14:30 CET. Chosen by the OpenScape partners, these participants will have explored this theme in tandem, comparing their local perspectives and personal practices during a two-week digital residency.

To learn more about the participants as well as the upcoming events, please visit our website.

You can join this free event by simply registering here: 

 

Register

The meeting will be in English and will be conceived as a networking moment for artists, curators and institutions. Feel free to share the information within your network!

Date : 8 November 2022 - 14.30 CET

  • 10:30 in Chile

  • 14:30 in Germany, Spain and Switzerland

  • 15:30 in South Africa, Lebanon and Moscow

  • 19.00 in India

  • 21.30 in China

Duration : 2 hours

 

Watch the video below to know more about our host iPANDA!